About us

About us

The Finnish Wind Power Association (FWPA) is the national wind industry association, bringing together interested people, companies and other organisations. The association was formed in 1988 and our purpose is to share information and support development of the wind energy industry in Finland. The association has three employees and is headquartered in Jyväskylä.

Our vision:

To build clean and safe energy production for the Finnish people
To create employment though the development of a profitable domestic renewable energy sector.
To make a cleaner tomorrow today.


STY membership was grown quickly in the last few years. We currently have over 220 private individual members and 170 company or organization members. Our member companies represent a wide range of businesses: from wind turbine and component manufacturers to project developers, law firms and consultants to logistics and lifting companies. Educational establishments and regional authorities are also amongst our members. With the support of our members, The Finnish Wind Power Association is a leading and vocal advocate of wind energy.

STY members gain first hand knowledge of current affairs in the industry and are able to influence the planning and implementation procedures and policy. Members gain exposure on the Association website and in our Wind Power magazine. Our events and member evenings offer excellent opportunities for networking and learning about the industry. As a member of the Finnish Wind Power Association, you are actively developing the future of Finnish wind power.

Explore our membership benefits and costs here.

Finnish Wind Power Association Board of Directors

The board of the association meets eight to ten times per year to discuss wind power advocacy, current affairs and to make decisions about the work of the association. In addition to the board, the association has five working groups that examine technical or policy advocacy issues. The annual general meeting takes place each spring around March.

Board Members in 2015:

Chairperson: Suominen Jari, St1 Oy
Holmström Jenny-Li, Taaleritehdas Oyj, (Deputy member: Kunnari Erkki, Taaleritehdas Oyj)
Holttinen Esa, wpd Finland Oy, (Deputy member: Stenberg Anders, wpd Finland Oy)
Joensuu Karoliina, Pöyry Finland Oy, (Deputy member: Laakso Timo, Pöyry Finland Oy)
Laine Janne, Enegia Portfolio Services Oy, (Deputy member: Kaasalainen Jussi, Enegia Oy)
Lammivaara Lauri, Megatuuli Oy, (Deputy member: Savolainen Seppo, Megatuuli Oy)
Latikka Jenni, Finnish Meteorological Institute, (Deputy member: Pietarila Harri, Finnish Meteorological Institute)
Leino Laura, Hammarström Puhakka Partners Oy, (No deputy member)
Valasjärvi Pasi, Siemens Osakeyhtiö, (Deputy member: Kuitunen Sami, EPV Energia Oy)
Virtanen Jyrki, Moventas Oy, (Deputy member: Turunen Antti, Moventas Oy)
Wallén Miia, Suomen Hyötytuuli Oy, (Deputy member: Kaarlela Taru, JBE Service Oy)